quit your whining and pitch

Here’s the thing that most bothers me about Keith Foulke. Not that he ****** last year. Not even that he’s been pitching arguably well-numbers wise-this year and still somehow manages to give fans an uneasy feeling. I say, arguably well because his stats show he’s been pretty decent with 24-plus innings pitched, 19 ks and 3 walks. But my gut tells me otherwise.

Two years ago, I used to have this calm, soothing feeling when Foulkie took the mound. This year: not so much. Evidenced by him giving back-to-back home runs last night in the ninth inning. And everyone says it’s okay b/c we had a 9-1 lead going into the inning anyways, but that’s not the point. That doesn’t mean you slack off just because you’re ahead. You play every night, every batter as if you were in the bottom of the ninth with the tying run on third.

That’s how you pitch regardless what the scoreboard says. So, no, it’s NOT okay he pitched that way just b/c we won anyways.

But I digress, and I still have to tell you what really irks me about Foulke. It’s his annoying habit of getting so angry after giving up a bomb late in the game. That camera shot where you see him dropping F-bombs and getting all huffy and puffy.

Don’t do that Keith, it’s your own fault for throwing a meatball down the center of the plate! And don’t give me this "it’s all mental thing," either b/c with $7 million dollars a year, I’m sure you could afford to get that head of yours straitened out.

So, let’s just wait and watch as Kieth Foulke keeps pounding his fist every time someone takes him deep and we DON’T have the luxury of an eight-run lead!

4 comments

  1. dave

    Baseball is the greatest sport I know. But to me, on a par, is football (soccer to most of you). The greatest show on Earth (The World Cup) starts on Friday.
    It is still bigger than the olympics.

    I will be starting a totally new, non-baseball, blog for the duration of the competition.

    Please, one and all, come and join in the fun. Even if you know feck all, or even dislike the sport.

    It will be a fun 4 weeks folk..

    http://psycho.mlblogs.com/

  2. ppa1011@yahoo.com

    Sounds similar to a player from my favorite team. Brought in to be our ace and is quite the opposite. Looks like the only thing he’ll win nowadays is the ugliest man contest.

Leave a Reply

